Faculty & Staff

Faculty

Angela Harrington

Angela Harrington

Performing Arts Teacher

Favorite Quote: "The only thing better than singing is more singing." - Ella Fitzgerald

aharrington@beechwoodschool.org

Anna Dito

Anna Dito

Academic Support Instructor

What I love about teaching: How excited children become when they accomplish something that was once a struggle for them - they realize they can do anything.

adito@beechwoodschool.org

Chris Chiochios

Chris Chiochios

Resiliency Consultant

Favorite quote: “It’s good to have an end to journey towards, but it's the journey that matters in the end.” –Ursula LeQuinn

Emily Laurance

Emily Laurance

3rd/4th Grade Teacher

I love teaching because it is almost completely impossible to have a truly bad day around these kids. I often wonder who is teaching who?

elaurance@beechwoodschool.org

Evangeline DeGraaf

Evangeline DeGraaf

Middle School Social Studies

"Few will have the greatness to bend history itself; but each of us can work to change a small portion of events, and in the total; of all those acts will be written the history of this generation." Robert Kennedy

edegraaf@beechwoodschool.org

Isabel Solis

Isabel Solis

Middle School Math Teacher

Favorite part about teaching: The aha moments have when something makes sense!

isolis@beechwoodschool.org

Website

Isabella Hill

Isabella Hill

Middle School Language Arts Teacher

"The most difficult thing is the decision to act. The rest is merely tenacity." Amelia Earhart.

ihill@beechwoodschool.org

Javier Zapata

Javier Zapata

Spanish Teacher

“Wanderer, there are no trails, trails are made by walking” -Antonio Machado

jzapata@beechwoodschool.org

Jessika Ceja

Jessika Ceja

KinderPrep/Kindergarten Aide

jceja@beechwoodschool.org

John Laurance

John Laurance

4th Grade Teacher & Vice Principal

Favorite quote: “The more that you read, the more things you will know. The more that you learn, the more places you'll go.” –Dr. Seuss

jlaurance@beechwoodschool.org

Katherine Pforzheimer

Katherine Pforzheimer

Kindergarten Teacher

Recently read: Teach Like Your Hair Was on Fire: The Methods and Madness Inside Room 56 by Rafe Esquith

kpforzheimer@beechwoodschool.org

Kathy Connolly

Kathy Connolly

Graduate Coordinator

Inspiration: Beechwood's resilient kids inspire me every single day! Their willingness to face challenges with smiles and enthusiasm fills my heart.

kconnolly@beechwoodschool.org

Konstance Kirkendoll

Konstance Kirkendoll

Service Learning Coordinator

What I love about teaching: Every day is different and the challenges that arise allow me to use creative problem solving.

kkirkendoll@beechwoodschool.org

Website

Lewis Hughes

Lewis Hughes

Physical Education Teacher

What I love about teaching: Beechwood teachers love what we do and truly care about the well-being of each child. We are focused on producing good students as well as good citizens.

lhughes@beechwoodschool.org

Madeleine Langford

Madeleine Langford

5th Grade Teacher

Favorite Quote: "Work hard, be kind and amazing things will happen"- Conan O'Brien

mlangford@beechwoodschool.org

Marisa Still

Marisa Still

Science Teacher

Favorite Quote: "The universe is full of magical things patiently waiting for our wits to grow sharper." - Eden Philpotts

mstill@beechwoodschool.org

Mayrin Bunyagidj

Mayrin Bunyagidj

1st Grade Teacher

Favorite Quote: "Develop a passion for learning. If you do, you will never cease to grow"-Anthony J. D'Angelo

mbunyagidj@beechwoodschool.org

Megan Tang

Megan Tang

Academic Support Instructor

Favorite Quote: "Working hard is important. But there's something that matters even more. Believing in yourself"-Harry Potter

mtang@beechwoodschool.org

Morgan Lee

Morgan Lee

1st/2nd Grade Teaching Aide

mlee@beechwoodschool.org

Pamela Langford

Pamela Langford

Art Teacher

Favorite quote: "You can't go back and change the beginning, but you can start where you are and change the ending." - C.S. Lewis

plangford@beechwoodschool.org

Sebastian Chavez

Sebastian Chavez

2nd Grade Teacher

My favorite part about teaching: teaching students to be authentic while sharing my authentic self as well. Inspiration: my family who gave up their lives in Mexico to give their descendants opportunities for growth in the US.

schavez@beechwoodschool.org

Website

Toni DeGraça

Toni DeGraça

2nd & 3rd Grade Teacher

Favorite quote: “The most beautiful things in the world cannot be seen or touched, they are felt by the heart.” –Antoine de Saint-Exupéry, The Little Prince

tdegraca@beechwoodschool.org

Veronica Elias

Veronica Elias

Kindergarten Prep Teacher

What I love about teaching: To see the children's faces full of excitement after they have learned something new.

velias@beechwoodschool.org

Staff

Bruno Lopez

Bruno Lopez

Maintenance

Loves: Family, futbol, gardening

blopez@beechwoodschool.org

Isabel Jimenez

Isabel Jimenez

Secretary

Loves: Reading, watching movies

ijimenez@beechwoodschool.org

Laurie Hall

Laurie Hall

Academic Support Coordinator

Favorite Quote: "The job of an educator is to teach students to see vitality in themselves." – Joseph Campbell

lhall@beechwoodschool.org

Melinda Christopherson

Melinda Christopherson

Development/Finance Director

melinda@cafamilyfoundation.org

Priscilla Taylor

Priscilla Taylor

Principal

Loves: Family and working with youth. "As you discover what strength you can draw from your community in this world from which it stands apart, look outward as well as inward. Build bridges instead of walls." Chief Justice Sonia Sotomayor

ptaylor@beechwoodschool.org

Xiomara Nickings

Xiomara Nickings

Librarian & Volunteer Coordinator

What Inspires Me: I draw my inspiration from all the adversity I have faced in my life. What was supposed to break me down has instead made me resilient and has put me on the path towards success and happiness.

xnickings@beechwoodschool.org

Board Members

Dick Jacobsen

Dick Jacobsen

Founder; Advisory Board Member

Erik Jacobsen

Erik Jacobsen

Chair, Advisory Board

Ernesto Reyes

Ernesto Reyes

Advisory Board Member

Lisa Pearson

Lisa Pearson

Advisory Board Member

Melody McLaughlin

Melody McLaughlin

Advisory Board Member

Parent Board Representative

Parent Board Representative

Advisory Board Member

Sue Jacobsen

Sue Jacobsen

Founder; Advisory Board Member